Cost to weld frame (2 Viewers)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Visual weld inspection tips

I'm no expert welder - to be honest I'm a novice. I haven't done it more than maybe 15 times in my life. But looking at the fishplates I get nervous when I see someone stacking welds like the welder did on the fishplate over the top of the frame. A good weld should penetrate perfectly the first time - not the second or third time and stacking them over on top isn't the way to solve it.

I would've liked to see cleaner welds, more prep - it doesn't look like to me he beveled the edges of the fishplate to make a gap for the weld to go. That's apparent as you see the weld not staying in a straight line and kinda all over the place. There's a couple spots on where it almost looks like he just welded on top of the fishplate instead of penetrating both and grabbing the frame.

Those are my beginner observations, everyone here please feel free to give me some feedback.

And since we're posting up welds - here's my very first weld on pot metal when I built a frame for my truck bed with a buddy.

CQRudW.jpg

And here was another one I did when I welded back the spare tire carrier on it too. I stopped a little short...like I said I'm not an expert. :hillbilly:

8h0p1O.jpg

Last edited:
My take is that what you are tying into looks sketchy. Way too much pitting back there. Not that it needs a whole lot of strength to hold a stock axle and tire but at least I would have run the scab plate further up the frame. As long as your gas tank isn't in the back you will be fine. The tub doesn't really have a lot of weight on the rear. In an accident where you get rear ended the new stuff will hold up fine. The frame above the rear axle is going to fold from the shock mount back. Not a huge issue.

It may save time and money to just get a new frame.