FJ55 Pre Purchase Questions (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Howdy folks - newbie here hoping to soon own an FJ55 instead of just a sideline enthusiast. Seeking braintrust input on Seller’s disclosures below and attached photos. Hired a mobile mechanic and received vague evaluation / didn’t get much by way of vetting the good, the bad, the ugly. So, I’m here to say hi and seek constructive feedback/coaching on what’s materially of concern/big ticket problemos/major headache issues v. the not so bad to worry about. TIA for the guidance and support!! :)

Seller disclosures:
-Engine belts have cracks
-Brake master is leaking, front calipers are sticking and rear wheel cylinders have been switched side to side.
Front pinion bearing and front driveline u-joints have played.
-Front axle has grease build up and should be serviced.
-Leaf spring bushings are worn.
- Play in steering box and tie-rod ends.

Resized_20231116_143542.jpeg
Resized_20231116_143518.jpeg
IMG_2103.jpeg
IMG_2100.jpeg
IMG_2101.jpeg

Seems like it needs normal work to me.

Belts, hoses are easily to replace. Cheap enough

Brakes - kits to rebuild ( not to hard or costly) or just get new ones. Switched sides rear wheel cylinders means to me the adjusters will work backwards from the book instructions. 4 new correct ones are like $200.

U-joints are cheap, change them all. Pinion, yea well it can done at home but setting the pattern correctly is way more than changing spark plugs or a water pump.

You could do the knuckles, again not for sissy's. My axles had groves where the seals wore from not having locking hubs - I'll be either welding them or maybe a Speedy Sleeve to fix that, next time.