Hub flange nuts stuck how do I get these suckers off? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
OK so today I planned on taking the hub flange off an getting to the bearing preload to tighten it up but I've run into a little problem. When attempting to take the nuts and cone washers off, I got two that came off the way they should, but then I had two that for some reason removed the whole stud. I assumed I could just use some locitite or something on those studs any input there would be helpful. But the bigger problem right now is the two other studs that I can't get off what so ever. I can turn them but they just spin on the stud. I assume this means the threads are toast and I'll have to get some more but how in the he'll do I get them off? This is my first time trying to get the hub off since I've owned the truck but it appears like the PO had these nuts on there pretty tight and possibly caused them to do this.

IMG_20160820_112102.jpg
IMG_20160820_112112.jpg
IMG_20160820_112124.jpg

If you are going to replace the studs, can you grab the end of the exposed thread with some vice grips and turn it out? If that doesn't work, I'd be getting out the cut off wheel...

EDIT: thatcabledude has a good idea ^^

This works awesome too:
image.jpeg

Keep steady pressure on the wrench while giving steady thumps with the hammer. After soaking with PB blaster. Whatever you do don't force it.

Put a wrench on the nuts and see if it is just the nut that is spinning or if it is the stud as well. If it is just the nut it should come off, but if it still doesn't get a nut splitter or cut the nuts with a dremmel.

Most likely, someone couldn't be bothered to use the torque wrench? I would replace all of the studs and nuts, correct parts, not hardware store type.

What Tools said... Get all new hardware. Looking at the pic of the two you got off I see one has ruined threads too.