Knuckle Rebuild - Did I get ripped off? (2 Viewers)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi all,

I have been lurking for a bit, but I am pretty new to the Land Cruiser world, picked up a 1993 Land Cruiser in August. On my drive home from Durham to Nashville I was experiencing a grinding noise that would only happen when I lifted off the throttle at 60+ MPH. The noise is fairly pronounced, and does not last, it only happens on lift off the throttle, lasts a second or two and then stops. I took the LC in to a reputable shop and they said they diagnosed the issue and we ordered parts. The vehicle sat with them for about 2 months and their diagnosis of the issue was that a knuckle rebuild was needed(front brakes were also done). I prepaid 1500 for the parts, and today I was charged another 2200$(1000 is for labor and 900 was for additional parts, + tax). To my dismay, the noise persisted, and they did no work on the drive shaft, which is what seems to be making the noise.

Is this reasonable for a knuckle rebuild, and am I basically SOL that their diagnosis of the issue was wrong and I am out $3500?

The big parts breakdown is this:

2x OEM Spindle Sub Assembly $888(total)
1x Knuckle Kit $290
2x Toyota front axle flange $180(total)
9x Moly Grease $180(total)
2x OEM Front Axle Spindle $420(total)

I'd want to see the old parts. The only reason to replace the spindles is if the bearing journals are toast. You can eyeball them and get a feel for their condition.

When do you hear the noise? When turning or driving straight or both?

$180 for 3 pounds of grease is criminal. You need two of these for this job:
1700086855499.png

and one half of one of these:
1700086899864.png

What's the Spindle Sub Assembly and the Front Axle Spindle? FWIW, these are the parts:
1700086581263.png