1970 FJ40 purchase help. (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

jlm43

SILVER Star
Threads
I’ve been stalking FB marketplace for a spring green 40 for a year or so now and I came across this one. I’m wondering if anyone sees any major red flags in the pictures. I’m still extremely new to 40’s so please bear with me. Also, I know value can fluctuate significantly depending on how the undercarriage looks but any thoughts would be appreciated. This one is a 10 hour drive so I’m trying to figure out if it’s worth the road trip.

Little background. I’m looking for a road worthy project. Rough around the edges is ok, a basket case is not. As stock as possible with no major rot. I can repair some rusty bits but don’t want to replace a tub. At this point, I’m not picky on things like PS, transmission, or AC. We have a 1975 CJ5 as a shop vehicle so I’m used to no PS, no windshield, no suspension, and no class. I've been maintaining ex-Vietnam helicopters since 1999 so while I don't consider myself a decent car mechanic, I'm pretty good with wrench on 50 year old helicopters. It’s going to be a summer ice cream run / retirement rig. I’m 10 years out from retirement but I don’t see values dropping much so I’m looking now. We live near Acadia NP in Maine so an old school 40 would make a great vehicle for tooling around Bar Harbor and the coast of Maine.

IMG_6294.jpeg
IMG_6296.jpeg
IMG_6297.jpeg
IMG_6298.jpeg
IMG_6299.jpeg

Last edited:
Others who are more knowledgeable will chime in here with better insight. Looks to be a mostly unmolested original survivor with 3 on the tree. Auxiliary fuel tank; aftermarket carb; 2F valve cover; some rust at rockers. Depending, of course, on price, I would make the 10 hour drive. Take a magnet and a flashlight. Good luck!