Series 80 engine rebuild or swap options? (2 Viewers)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I am looking at a Series 80 with ~250K miles on it. It doesn't have a blown head gasket but, if I go to that much trouble, I'm thinking a fresher engine would be a good idea.

I spoke with Blane's Engine in Dallas, TX and they said they CANNOT get parts to rebuild the engine. I am wondering about a low mileage pull but, LKQ wasn't any help.

I am a newbie and a pretty 'green' so, what am I missing? Is a fresh Toyota motor a reasonable option today? Or, am I looking at a repower with a different motor and transmission when the time comes?

TIA.
Sid

I am looking at a Series 80 with ~250K miles on it. It doesn't have a blown head gasket but, if I go to that much trouble, I'm thinking a fresher engine would be a good idea.

I spoke with Blane's Engine in Dallas, TX and they said they CANNOT get parts to rebuild the engine. I am wondering about a low mileage pull but, LKQ wasn't any help.

I am a newbie and a pretty 'green' so, what am I missing? Is a fresh Toyota motor a reasonable option today? Or, am I looking at a repower with a different motor and transmission when the time comes?

TIA.
Sid
The bottom ends last forever on these as long as they're properly maintained. So if you do end up needing a head gasket, rebuilding the cylinder head is about all you'll need to do. Of course checking the bottom end at that time is a good idea, but they usually last a long time. Mine has 280k on it and other that the valve seals (smokes on start up if it hasn't been started in a while), she works great.