Re key or have it done by locksmith? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Long story short, I need to re key an ignition key cylinder, and as I have no experience doing it myself, I am wondering how to go about it. I looked online for videos and I didn't find anything particularly useful.
So, any advice or pointers, or do I bust out the wallet and get it done.

Take it to a locksmith. Should not cost that much.

you can buy they whole ignition cylinder with 2 keys in the aftermarket for cheap starting around $15. it is very easy to remove the old cylinder as long as you can still turn it. remove lower dash piece, turn key to ignition 2 and then press button on they ignition cylinder housing and it will pull/slide right out. installation is even easier. matching the new keys to the doors is another story.

Thanks liveoak, just ordered form partsgeek. I have the old one out,
I guess at some point I will have to get a locksmith involved for the doors.
Here are a few pictures, cuz everybody loves picture, 88 standard cab, new 22re performance built motor, new radiator, alternator, LCE header,
ball joints, shocks, wheel bearings, rebuilt hubs. front diff is rebuilt (stock), Transfer case rebuilt(stock), 1" M/C, V6 calipers, and 1" wheel cylinders.
Rear wheel bearings next, finish interior and drive the snot outta it, till the next round of upgrades.

DSCF0035.JPG

DSCF0036.JPG

DSCF0037.JPG

DSCF0040.JPG

Last edited:

If you haven’t found anyone for keys yet, here’s a mud vendor. I can’t speak for his service, but prices seem good.

Is the problem that you don't have a good key anymore? If you want to go back to an fresh original cut key, you can pop off the passenger door card, reach in and remove the cylinder, and the factory key number will be stamped into the bottom. Take it with your registration to a dealer and they can cut you a fresh key.

Reactions: Zor