Next steps on leaking steering rack (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I have a leaking boot, passenger side, on what I’m guessing is the steering rack? Is this correct? It’s accumulating on my garage floor at a decent rate each day.

I just purchased a proper floor jack and stands after acquiring my ‘06 LX last year. 236,000 miles. I’m new to wrenching.

I found this link talking about trying to fix the leak by using Lucas power steering stop leak or ATP AT-205.

What should be my next steps? Thank you.

IMG_3317.jpeg

I'd clean it up and inspect a little further. If the boot is torn no amount of stop leak is going to work. I will say, if you're new to wrenching and it looks like your truck has some rust on it, the rack is a bear of a job. If it's not your main vehicle and you've got time, then great, but if you need it back driving the next day, I'd think about it.

Definitely clean up is the place to start so that you can determine how quickly it is leaking and whether the boot is torn.

If the leak is minor and not gushing out, start with the ATP AT-205, it is cheap compared to a steering rack and will not harm the system.

If you can manage the leak via an additive but the boot has a hole, you will need to replace the boot. This be done without removing the rack, but it does require tie rod removal and an alignment. If the rack can be saved, this may be a good time to refresh the tie rod ends while addressing that boot.

Start simple, clean it up and monitor it for a week, then give the ATP a try and continue monitoring. If the boot is torn, that is a must replace because it will allow dirt and dust to get inside to your ITRE and the rack seal.