H55 users: fill me in.. (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

HemiAlex

Long live the 2F
Supporting Vendor
GOLD Star
Threads
Website
yotaoilfilters.com
I've been driving the cruiser for 6 months daily, racked up about 6000 miles on it and I've had no issues. I run it mostly on the highway, and I've had it cruise at 2700rpm for hours with no issue. It's refreshed on the top end so the rpm doesn't scare me.

It's currently undergeared with 33" tires and 3.70's running an h42. I've got no complaints about the power or acceleration, it is what it is. Runs at 70 with no issues and it is definitely a Middle and right lane cruiser. Granted, I live in a flat state and haven't gone off road yet.

I drove my 2.7 Tacoma on a trip out of state after letting it sit for a few months at my mechanics. It makes me realize how nice it is to drive a properly geared truck with 28" tires and 4.10's and still have overdrive. I did 80mph for a while and it felt good. I'd like to be able to do 70 in a more relaxed state with the old truck.

My question is, do you feel that the deeper first gear solved the undergeared first with the taller than stock tires? Could I do decently with 3.70 Gears, lockers and a 5 speed?

Or should I budget to find 4.11 gears, if and when I'm ready to do lockers?

I've got a 100k mile h42 that I purchased from a pristine local truck. I'd like to get in there eventually to rebuild the transfer case and fix my rear main seal leak, so it would be 50/50 between an lower mileage h42 or an h55. For what I'm doing now the rubber overdrive is fine, but I don't feel it has enough low end to be effective off road. Mind you, this will never have mud terrains so maybe that is a moot point.

Help me find some real world logic about this topic.

Last edited: