Transmission fill hole thread fell apart (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi All - I got a 60 series a few months back. Total newb, long story, but I've been trying to fix her up as a hobby to give me something to do and learn about cars finally.

I have been using the forums to do all sorts of work, so thanks for all the help. Replaced the PCV valve, exhaust header, charcoal canister, and a few other things. Stock 2f Engine with 220K miles on it. Ill do an introduction soon.

This time around I was doing an oil change on the diffs, the transfer and transmission. I have everything filled back up, except when threading the transmission fill plug it would not tighten. I took a closer look, and found what I am worried is a disaster....

Looking for advice on what options I have.

Somehow the inner thread on the fill plug has fallen apart, and the fill plug never tightens fully.

PXL_20240305_012024013.jpg

PXL_20240305_012050472.jpg

Sorry, transfer case fill hole. Thanks! I would edit the post, but cant because I am a newb I think.

I definitely didnt over tighten but clearly I was the last one fidling with it. I set my torque wrench to 30ftlb and after a couple turns it just kept turning.

Thanks Godwin for setting my naming straight. Once I searched for Transfer case i found a helpful thread.

Looks like I may not be alone on this one....

I had one years ago that was tapped to 1/2"? pipe thread
just used caution when installing the plug as pipe is a tapered fit.

you can remove the PTO cover on the side and catch all the shavings

saw 1 that had a aluminum coupler welded to the case

I am leaning towards having a shop weld a bung onto it. This seems like the easiest and most permanent fix. Especially if it can be done while the case is on the car.