Knuckle rebuild. (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I need to rebuild my Knuckles on my 40 series.
I have never done this before.
I bought back my 1978 40 from a guy I sold it to this past spring.
It returned with the front 2 steering arm knuckle studs broken off in the right knuckle.
I attempted to remove the broken studs after removing the Hi Steer and was unsuccessful, so need to remove the knuckle to remove the broken studs.
I thought since the knuckles are leaking, might as well rebuild them.
I have a front end manual, rebuild kit and have watched a few videos.
Looking for suggestion on references and any pitfalls I might avoid.
To start with I have removed the Tie Rod ends, Steering arm and brake caliper.
Moving onto the Locking Hub, ect. I'm a little spooked by it, but I'm mechanical for a ER doc.
Any help would be beneficial.
I do have all the tools for the job.
I want to do this job myself, to learn and be ready for future repairs or breaks.
Thanks for the help.
Paul

I'm going through very much the same thing with my '78 as well. Mine is completely torn down and I'm painting/refurbishing at the moment. I've also not done the rebuild before now, but it is fairly simple so far.

OTRAMM and Low Range Off Road both have good video series:

I got a couple of cheap plastic bins to put under each axle to catch grease/gear oil and drop dirty parts into, as well as a staging table to clean them up after. This helped me organize everything.

The only gotcha so far is the factory alignment tool/shims. Seems like if you keep the same shim pack organized everything *should* be ok, but I might try to see if I can borrow one when I go to put things back together.