How much should I pay? (2 Viewers)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi, I’m completely new to Land Cruisers and have put a deposit down on a short wheel base 1992 Landcruiser Prado LX70. She’s gorgeous but needs a new exhaust, and a good bit of TLC in the inside. It’s up for €6,400 and wondering if that’s too much to pay for one? I’m told the price will go up and either way I will get my money back but Ive no idea if it’s a bargain or if I’m paying too much. I’ll have to oil up or change callipers and possibly get a new battery for it. There’s abit of rust but not severe, head light needs changing and the two seats have been taken out of the back. I think she’s pretty unique and a good project but I’m being told left right and centre to settle with a safe car

IMG_4482.png

Hello,

The truck looks good but more pictures are necessary.

Check the frame, underside and drive train for rust. The picture shows what appear to be rust speckles below the grill. Make sure it is superficial.

Check for rust bubbling in the windscreen base and the door sills.

Remember: do not spend money you cannot afford to lose.

If there is no rust, the price looks good enough.

Juan

Be prepared to do plenty of maintenance yourself. The LJ7x Prados are a great vehicle but do require a dedicated owner. Rust and the engine are the two weak links in the platform, both can be fixed but could easily exceed the value of the vehicle if you have to pay someone else to do the work.

Thanks very much guys! The only bit of rust is the exhaust which will definitly need to be replaced..all other rust is superficial. I am hoping to keep it and do it up myself. Are parts difficult to come by for this particular model? Also are there any specific issues this model would have?