Fj60 Won't Pass CA Smog (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hey folks I'm new here. I an owned a pre-smog fj40 for years and decided to get something bigger (fj60) as the family grows. I bought an out of state fj60 without doing much homework on the difficulty of passing smog. Long story short, the truck is a gross polluter, everything is there smog pump, catalytic converter and visually everything passes. The attached picture says it all. Any suggestions or any Volkswagen engineers available to help!

14571993709132006122314.jpg

Looks like it needs a carb tune and a new cat. I'm not an expert, but it seems like older import stuff with carbs eat up catalytic converters.

Running way too rich, co% at 4.0!! Probably turned up to compensate for vacuum leaks. Other numbers look good, try leaning the mixture screw, run it in till it idles rough then bring it back out till the idle cleans up.

X 2 for too rich. My '85 60 had more or less the same issue. Backed way off on the mix screw and it helped. This made it run a little rough though - I also had a lot of vacuum leaks. Went through and fixed them all and ran great.

You have very good residual o2. your air injection system seems to be working fine a new ct and a carb rebuild will do wonders for those numbers. You can try to do no repairs and add maybe a 1/2 gallon of denatured alcohol to the tank and retest.

Dyn

If you want to get it running right, you need to baseline and fix any vacuum leaks, first. Get a vacuum gauge reading. Do or have done a VALVE ADJUSTMENT, if the vac gauge readings indicate low vac or flutter.

If no leaks, then as stated, carb and CAT. And as Dynosoar noted, it's a good thing your AIR inj system is working well as that usually is an issue and difficult to diagnose and repair.

There's a NEW Kaif CARB-compliant CAT in the for sale section for a hell of a price.