FJ55 choke cable replacement battle.

Captn Conch

Life Begins Above Timberline.
Joined
Jun 7, 2010
Messages
563
Location
Colorful Colorado
 
 
Still trying to replace frozen choke cable on the '76 55. Just can't seem to access the back nut to get the pull mechanism out. Research says remove gauge panel and then remove the choke pull assembly. But How do I remove that gauge cluster? it is now unbolted and wedged between steering column and dash opening won't come out and won't go back in as panel is stuck now.
What am I missing here? speedo cable is off. (it wasn't really clipped on, PO apparently tried to remove panel and couldn't.) Is there a trick to this procedure? I see a lot of gauge panels for sale so somebody knows how to remove the darn thing!
 

Captn Conch

Life Begins Above Timberline.
Joined
Jun 7, 2010
Messages
563
Location
Colorful Colorado
 
 
I have not pulled either in my '77 but you might ask over in the 55 section.
Yeah I tried there a while back but since this is the 40 and 55 tech section I thought I might get more input here, more viewers.

Yes, maybe I really got to drop the steering column but what a hassle! I figured there has got to be a lot of mudders who have pulled a 55 instrument panel.
 

Pighead

Stop calling it an FJ
Joined
Aug 31, 2004
Messages
7,911
Location
Denverish
 
 
 
Yes, maybe I really got to drop the steering column but what a hassle! I figured there has got to be a lot of mudders who have pulled a 55 instrument panel.
you really don't have to "drop" the steering column to remove the gauge cluster, just loosen the two bolts holding it up to the dash and let it sag down a bit...
 

Captn Conch

Life Begins Above Timberline.
Joined
Jun 7, 2010
Messages
563
Location
Colorful Colorado
 
 
Wait, remove the gauge panel? Wouldn't one want to remove the center panel to get to the choke knob?
It looks like that would be a hassle but I got to scope that out when I get home! I still have the original working am radio in there. Wonder what's involved in that?
OK, while I'm typing responses you guys are telling me what I need to know. Thanks!
 

ToyotaMatt

Factory Focus-Point Mind-Set Aproach
Supporting Vendor
GOLD Star
Joined
Aug 12, 2007
Messages
10,896
Location
EAST COAST
 
 
Yeah I tried there a while back but since this is the 40 and 55 tech section I thought I might get more input here, more viewers.

Yes, maybe I really got to drop the steering column but what a hassle! I figured there has got to be a lot of mudders who have pulled a 55 instrument panel.

have you completed the repair to choke cable yet ?

i have just replaced one in a 1/79 FJ55LG-KA

i simply pulled all 8 or so micro phillips head screws and pulled center metal dash face off / out a tad , knowing all switches and other control cables were still attached

just enough room for my long reach open end wrench to slide in and loosen that darn hex nut !

one thing i learned is have a 2nd person pull on new choke cable during final dash face re-install made cable NOT kink and aided in my end inside cab ...........

never the less a Bear of a job mostly...........


----------------------------------------------------------------------------------


side TECH note Question :


does anybody know what the extra open D-Groove hole is really for just above the oem

factory choke cable mounting location ?

my first thought was a hand throttle ?,


but no , if its attached to the gas peddle under dash like all 2F ones were i think ?

the D groove open hole is unusually larger then a standard one for a choke cable for example ?

thoughts and input anyone ?

thanks




Custom Length brass barrel stop equipped CHOKE cable assy i built and restored ,

the odd early style bell shaped knob seemed to fit well ......... :)



IMG_8239 - Copy.png
DSCN3018.JPG
DSCN3019.JPG
DSCN3021.JPG
DSCN3022.JPG
 

Captn Conch

Life Begins Above Timberline.
Joined
Jun 7, 2010
Messages
563
Location
Colorful Colorado
 
 
Yes, I did get it done! dropped gauge cluster and the switch panel was able to put in a universal choke cable and reinstall my speedometer cable properly. It was a hassle but I'm so glad to have it all operational. I kept my original choke knob assmbly so some day I can solder in the cable with the proper knob.
 
Top Bottom