Cross Threaded Timing Belt Tensioner Bolt (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
timing belt replacement was going well enough until tonight. I stripped the threads on the bolt and I’d imagine the spot it goes into on the timing belt tensioner pulley. Pictured below. It’s the one with the funny sized bolt with the 10mm hex head.

Seeing as this is my first time cross threading/stripping a bolt in this fashion, what remedies are available to me to get out of this terrible quagmire?

Thanks to all for the timing belt write ups they’ve been very helpful thus far.

257A2113-1EAF-456B-B4F9-D786859F6AD5.jpeg

4CAA5E18-EE12-4ADB-9BDF-B8D2833DF4FC.jpeg

Did you strip the bolt threads (the male part) or the threads in the hole (the female part)?

In general you can “chase the threads” with a bottoming tap for the hole and a die for the bolt.

If there is enough meat left over just put the bolt back in and torque to spec.

If the threads don’t hold you will need a thread repair insert like a helicol

Did you strip the bolt threads (the male part) or the threads in the hole (the female part)?

In general you can “chase the threads” with a bottoming tap for the hole and a die for the bolt.

If there is enough meat left over just put the bolt back in and torque to spec.

If the threads don’t hold you will need a thread repair insert like a helicol
I definitely stripped the bolt threads, I wasn’t able to get a good look in the hole to see if those are any good.
Does anyone know what size these are?

Aluminum can be tricky when it comes to stripped bolts/threads. Luckily you didn't break the bolt off in the hole, that is usually worse and requires a welder. You have two ways to fix this.
  1. Buy new OEM bolt, buy a tap with the same thread pitch, clean out the threads and be done