Broke down (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Driving home, started hearing a clank, clank, clank. Sudden looks of power, pulled over, shut the engine off and looked underneath. This part was smoking. What is this part and what have I done? I'm a noob so fo easy ok n me. 1972 FJ40.

20211126_114922.jpg

Noobs rule the world!!!

the black thing in front of the aforementioned transfer case is the emergency brake (I think, I'm not exactly sure of the angle). Any chance the brake was on?

When you say loss of power, was the engine turning and you not moving? Or did the engine lose power?

The more detail, the more help.

Noobs rule the world!!!

the black thing in front of the aforementioned transfer case is the emergency brake (I think, I'm not exactly sure of the angle). Any chance the brake was on?

When you say loss of power, was the engine turning and you not moving? Or did the engine lose power?

The more detail, the more help.
I was driving about 55 mph when sudden loss of power. Pulled over immediately and looked underneath to see the tcase smoking. Ebrake was not engaged..

But, did the engine die? Or was the engine spinning happily while the 40 was not going anywhere?

It sounds like you either lost your transmission or your transfer case - and since the transfer case was smoking - that's the good first suspect. Do you have a good 40 mechanic in your area?

It sounds like you either lost your transmission or your transfer case - and since the transfer case was smoking - that's the good first suspect. Do you have a good 40 mechanic in your area?
I do. But why would the tcase crap out? I wasn't doing any offloadng. Can the tcase be rebuilt or just replaced? Is it part of the tranny and have to replace both? Is this a Toyota specific part? Easy to replace?