Welding Help on Quarter Panels (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
The link to the video below outlines the issue that I'm dealing with. Basically I can't get my plug welds to stick.

Any Thoughts?

Great video. So three thoughts from a non-expert:
1. Is your ground clamp on the painted surface of the fender flange? You might not be getting the arc to flow through that metal. Your getting flow on the outer panel, hence the plug.
2. On those size holes, I’d weld around the edges then circle into the center for full fill.
3. Looks like your on B setting? I’d consider C only after thinking about A, then B.

Hope that helps. Paul

Thanks Paul. I'm a non expert of non experts, so I really appreciate the tips!

Do you have any thinish (1/8”) copper plates, a few inches by a few inches? If so, I like to put one under the backside of the ground clamp to help both with arc conduct but also cooling. Not really necessary though for spot/plug welds. GL.

not hot enough. for plugs you need to be on the too hot side.
you would be more comfortable ditching the stick welding gloves and picking up a pair of tig gloves.

Ditto from above and:
Ground should be somewhere that both parts are adequately grounded, somewhere common like rear sill.
5/16” hole for plug spot welding, nothing less. Spot weld drill bits are 5/16”. I’ve tried 3/16” and it simply doesn’t work. 1/4” maybe stick somewhat. 5/16” gives enough time on the weld to get in some heat.
I know that was only one weld you were showing but that was a lot of spatter. After you dremel get all the crud out of there. I like the toothbrush sized stainless brushes to get all the excess.
you could also overclean with a little acetone. No fires or explosions pleaseo_O