Talk me out, or in, new to LC (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi All,

I am new to Land Cruiser, but the J80 has been a dream since I was a kid. I like the sturdy design and reliability. But the overinflated price of JDM especially in California, have always kept me afar.

I did not plan on buying one but I saw a deal on a Lexus version (non-locked) that has a repaint and looked reasonably clean. How is the market on this, not BAT but in real life, think beat up but no significant rust from the picture, non modified, 3-4 owners, and the interior is ripped. I have seen some in similar condition here and there on Cl that sold around 7-10k is this reasonable?

Currently, I have a one-owner Volvo 740 wagon that was quite the turd but does well on mpg. I am a mechanical engineering student in Southern California [USA] and I am mechanically inclined, but I really do not like changing fuel pumps over and over again as I did with the Volvo, or blowing up and left stranded in the Range Rover Classic... that is why when I saw the running /driving land cruiser with a heater I got a little excited. I know the mpg sucks for these things, probably even worse than the range rover I used to own (15mpg), so talk to me about your ownership and why/why not I should buy this...

If I were to purchase this, it will be replacing the volvo. On average I drive 3 times a week and go on road trips to UT some times.

Also, anything particular (DEAL BREAKERS) that I should be looking for on one of these?

Thanks for all the help.

Tiger

J80 has been a dream since I was a kid

so talk to me about your ownership and why/why not I should buy this...

I got a little excited

Relax. There's plenty of landcruisers to go around. If there were 10 to choose from, would you choose this one?

Don't buy because you're excited by the idea of a dream car.