Ron Davis vrs TOYOTA OEM radiator (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I have a 93 FZJ80 223k stock no motor mods, 35"tires re geared to 4.88, dont tow anything.. have not noticed any cooling problems so far. wondering at 3 times the cost of OEM is the Ron Davis worth the extra money and is there any better cooling with it over stock?
not a daily driver used mostly for running in deserts and high altitude mountains.
thnaks.

Yes they perform better than stock. Yes they are expensive. There is apparently a Leiland brand that is less expensive but I have no knowledge of how they last or perform.

I pull a modified M100 camper trailer and can say in 100 plus degree temps the Ron Davis does not heat soak climbing hills. The OEM variants in copper/brass (3FE) and the plastic/aluminum (1FZE-FE) created a situation where my temps at 70 mph would climb and I backed out of the throttle to keep the temps from climbing and then it took 15 minutes for the temps to level back to normal once past the grade.

I've not run a Ron Davis and don't know the specs to say if it has more or less capacity but in my experience the stock plastic/aluminum in my '97 has had sufficient capacity. I'm not sure why you were seeing heat soaking @deltapine1 but I've towed our camper with a full load of people/gear thousands of miles, including in the SouthWest, Rockies and Appalachian mountains and I haven't seen what looked like heat soaking. There are a lot of factors beyond the radiator itself that could be different between your 80s temps and mine.