Fzj80 birf replacement issues, help appreciated! (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hey everyone

I’ve been helping a friend repair a broken birfield on his 1994 land cruiser. I’m new to working on solid axle Toyotas coming from a ACVW background I’ve been learning a lot but this is my first time doing a birfield. I’ve gotten everything buttoned up but I went to put the outer c clip on and I could not get the groove visible enough to actually put the clip on. Tried threading in a M8x1.25 bolt and pulling with vice grips and could not get it to come out, also have tried moving the wheels left/right and driving the truck back and forth to see if it would walk out and had no luck. I’ve disassembled everything numerous times to make sure everything was seated correctly and was put together in the right order referencing various forum posts and YT videos and could not find any issues or reasons to why this issue is occurring. Currently wondering if the new birf is too short, Any help from someone more experienced would be so greatly appreciated, thanks!

IMG_7461.jpeg

IMG_7466.jpeg

Did you try threading a bolt into the end of the Birfield and pulling?

Looks like a late model drive flange on an early model axle.
That’s another situation I was considering. Would it be a case of a later axle being swapped into the truck by a previous owner? Also will a the earlier style drive flange bolt up the same or is there anything else needing to be swapped? Thanks!

That’s another situation I was considering. Would it be a case of a later axle being swapped into the truck by a previous owner? Also will a the earlier style drive flange bolt up the same or is there anything else needing to be swapped? Thanks!