FJ40 hard to start and died while driving (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi everyone, I’m new to the FJ40. I’m coming from a 1995 80s series. Any insight into what may be causing my issues is greatly appreciated, as I’m very excited to get my new truck on the road.

It’s been very difficult to start, sometimes it fires right up, but most of the time it takes several tries with/without gas, with/without choke, etc, and it’s inconsistent when it does fire. (I should mention, it cranks very strong, but just has a very hard time firing.)

Up until this evening, whenever I’ve gotten it fired up, it’s run like a top. This evening it started up after having trouble all day, we pulled it out of the garage, let it warm up, and killed it to put garage back in order. We came back maybe 2 minutes later and the truck would not start. Cranked forever, wouldn’t even fire spraying carb cleaner into the intake. We were able to point it downhill and bump start it, and starting our drive. Before making it out of the neighborhood, maybe 2 minutes into driving it died in motion.

Didn’t lose power, still cranks strong, just will not fire up. We turned back down the hill again and got it to almost fire on a bump start, but it didn’t stay running.

I’ve only owned it since last night, so I’m still very unfamiliar with this vehicle. Thanks everyone in advance!

PS: 1974 FJ40 with 3 spd and 1F motor. 89,000 original miles.

1st thought, Guessing it’s not getting fuel anymore. Can have buddy crank while pouring slight amount of gas into carb. If no good, could be kill circuit in ignition went bad (is grounding) since I assumed you did key off to kill it before stashing back in garage. This would prevent running but not firing.