Battery troubles or something else? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Website
www.n0zb.com
I have a 2015 LC with a Slee installed IBS system with a second battery.

This morning when I opened the door, the interior lights came on. I pushed the start button and all the power dropped. I popped the hood to check the battery terminals. They were on tight.

I linked the batteries using the IBS controller and the vehicle started. All the onboard electronics had reset itself. I drove ~20 miles to work. After I turned off the vehicle, I checked to see that the batteries were no longer linked. I then started the vehicle without issue.

After work, I went to start the vehicle and what happen this morning, happen again.

Any thoughts on what is wrong?

Scott in Kansas

Do you have AGM batteries installed? I have some experience using AGM batteries in various vehicles and I find, and have been told by others more knowledgeable than me that they should be charged with a "smart charger" from time to time.

When Slee installed my system they put in Interstate AGM's. I hook them up to a smart charger, e.g., Ctek in my case and make sure they get a full charge. When I do this I separate each one so that there is no parasitic drain by either. Don't know if this is your case or not, however AGM's need to be treated differently than wet cells.

I won't be the only one to note that a tight battery connection can still be bad. Double check those for a good connection, not just a tight one. I also won't be the first to say that early battery failures are much too common. It's worth testing the battery, but it may also be worth just eliminating that variable immediately and replacing it. There have been too many cuss words invented and too much hair pulled out chasing everything but the battery for electrical issues when in fact it was the battery.