'71 FJ40 with '76 front axle. Brakes?!?!? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hello Masters of fj40 world. Beginner here.
I bought a gorgeous '71 with the original 1f. The seller confirmed he had some resto work done, Including the trans/transfer and front axle out of a '76. Gave him the 4 speed, and front disc brakes. I have had a weird intermittent "dump" of Dot3 fluid from my master cylinder. EMPTY!! I have caught it twice now, doing my inspections before driving. I was able to confirm the left rear is definitely leaking (I'll address this in a minute). I obviously filled it back up, first time I bled the brakes, second time I have not yet. I havent lost braking power, and I dont have a soft pedal.
Things I've noticed now that I'm paranoid and hyper-aware. It feels like I have "two stages" going on when I brake. First stage is a firm stiff pedal, and braking is fine. Second stage, the pedal softens a little and goes toward the floor a few more inches, but braking remains even and constant. Normal? maybe I need to bleed them again? Or...
But here is the big question I am going to replace the 4 rear cylinders (Maybe ill upgrade to discs, depending on cost). But now im curious.... which master cylinder do I have, or should I have?! Or is there a part/piece in between I'm not aware of to accommodate for drum in the rear, disc in the front. OR could this be the cause of my leak, over pressure, etc....

Photos of your master cylinder would help, and maybe the brakes too.
You probably have a pressure bias valve on the front of the MC to limit pressure to your rear brakes?
Sounds like you're losing a lot of fluid somewhere though. You make it sound like it's sudden? Have you traced the lines looking for leaks?