What the heck is this thing (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
So I’m an electrical apprentice at a restoration shop and my first task is to install a kwik wire universal wire harness after I pulled out the old one. I’m currently constantly getting stuck because I don’t know what some things are and what they do, my goal today was to make sure I can wire the ignition switch up correctly and while for the most part it’s easy I ran into this thing that the ammeter wires are connected to as well as it being connected to the fuse box, a relay and the ignition switch and it’s destroying my brain because when I look at my wiring diagram this thing doesn’t exist apparently. I’m hoping you guys can help me identify what it is and how I can wire my ignition and ammeter without on the new one.

The white wires connect to the positive of the ammeter gauge and the starter and then to this thing, the blue wires connect to the relays and the fuse box as well as the ignition switch.

Ps my boss doesn’t have the time to help me out so I’d much appreciate if you geniuses can help me out

image.jpg

image.jpg

image.jpg

image.jpg

I think that is an old style resettable fuse. Probability bimetallic. If you overload it then it goes open circuit.

Have you got the correct and genuine toyota diagram? Some other diagrams give you useful information presented in a different way and can be helpful but imo the toyota diagram is best.

Print it off as big as you can, laminate it, and then scribble corrections onto it where needed - things that previous owners have changed etc such as those relays.

Boss "doesn't have time to help" = doesn't have a clue where to start haha

I don't think it's stk. The white wire goes from the batt thru a fusible link then to the positive side of the ammeter.