Events/Trails 1969 FJ40 w/ Turbo Diesel + AWD... and Other Stuff (2 Viewers)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
OK, here goes the build thread of my 1969 FJ40 restomod!

Like most people, I’ve been lurking on Mud for a while, but I’ve decided it’s about time I start contributing. By no means am I an expert in anything, just a self-taught average Joe with a welder and an angle grinder.

I honestly didn’t know a these fantastic machines even existed before I saw an episode of Top Gear, the Bolivia Special - from there I was hooked. In the winter of 2014 I had rolled my beautiful 1994 Toyota Hilux Surf and was looking for a 4x4 replacement, so what better time to start looking for a 40?!

Bought this gem in June 2014 from a guy that bought it from the original owner about a decade ago. He was selling it because it sat on his property almost that whole time, and was a reminder of a project he gave up on… Put a battery in it and sprayed a little gas in the carb and it fired right up. This thing came with all the original manuals and insurance + registrations from over the years.

_JWB6963.jpg
_JWB6977.jpg
_JWB6987.jpg

Brought it home and a few months later the tear down began… Once I started this however I discovered the truck became less and less original. The engine was a 2F from a ’75 and there was some filler covering up a crunched rear quarter.
fullsizeoutput_b88d.jpeg

At this point it was time to decide what I wanted to do with the truck, and after my Hilux I had been tossing around the idea of a turbo-diesel 40. It just so happened I had a drivetrain, wiring harness, and all the other little bits lying around the backyard…

fullsizeoutput_b88e.jpeg
fullsizeoutput_b88f.jpeg