My 4x4 Labs Bumper Build (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
And so it begins.

I am a total novice at welding. The hardest thing I have ever welded are some plant hangers. I have all winter to get it done so I can take it slow.

Starting from:
utf-8BSU1HMDAwOTItMjAxMTEwMTUtMTYzNi5qcGc.jpg

utf-8BSU1HMDAwOTMtMjAxMTEwMTUtMTYzNi5qcGc.jpg

The parts:

utf-8BSU1HMDAwOTQtMjAxMTEwMTUtMTYzNy5qcGc.jpg

utf-8BSU1HMDAwOTUtMjAxMTEwMTUtMTY1My5qcGc.jpg

Sweet, it's a bunch of work, but worth it in the end.:cheers:

I am going to watch this too. Lots of pics please. I can weld and could lay down a pretty good bead but it has been 25 years since my last metal melting.

Seeing another one of these really makes me want to hurry my Miller purchase so I can build myself one of these.

My recent rear swap has me looking similar to your first pic and I am thinking of running that way for a bit.

Just a warning, this is going to be very slow since I really have no idea WTF I'm doing. In fact, it just occurred to me I can't really start until after next weekend. I need the cruiser for one last trip to the cabin and there will be no way I have a functional rear bumper even without swing outs by then.

I did not realize I need to build it on the rig. Since the first step is surgery on the frame.....

My next week is going to be practice laying welds on scrap.

Subscribed... slow and steady 41magsnub.good luck

Don't even sweat the fact that you are a novice welder and gonna do the 4x4Labs bumper. I was in the same boat when I did mine, my first welding experience. I practiced a few welds on some pieces of metal laying around and then I went to town. I've seen two methods of welding these bumpers: Welded by a pro showing off the nice welds, or my route, hitting all the welds with a flap disc and grinding smoothe. Don't worry, it will look great when it's powder coated.