HJ61 12HT overheating issue (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi all - I'm still relatively new to the cruiser world, but my JDM HJ61 has recently started overheating - well really, running on the warm side, which is a new occurrence -- and one that I'd like to stop. I've done my damndest to figure out what's going on (using the search function on MUD) but I'd like to run some ideas past those far more experienced and knowledgeable than I. It is also my DD and only vehicle, so she can't be out of commission for more than a weekend if at all possible.

some quick facts:
  • 180k km on the engine with no reason to believe that's incorrect or misrepresented.
  • full radiator flush performed with Toyota factory coolant (after overheating issue began)
  • no loss of coolant
  • no oil consumption
  • radiator seems to be in good condition

For the first month of ownership, I never saw the water temp gauge go past juuust above the lower end of the center marks (green line in the image below). About a month in (and interestingly enough, right after I changed the oil - so not sure if there's any correlation there) I noticed that under load, temps would slowly increase under heavier load. Not towing or anything, just highway speeds going up big steep hills in CO.

The more time has passed, the easier/quicker this seems to happen. I know the factory temp gauge is notoriously unreliable, and I don't currently have the $$$ to put in anything more accurate. Long term plan is to fit an EGT gauge and digital readout water temp gauge, but I'm broke as a joke at the moment due to some unexpected expenses, and having to move due to some really s***ty roommates and a dishonest landlord.