Alternator - Voltage in gear vs. parked (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Newbie here: I have searched the forums and cannot really find anything similar so I figured I would post here.

Last week I noticed that my voltage gauge would dip slightly at lights and stop signs, occasionally going as low as 2/3 before rising back to just below the 3/4 mark. my first thought was to put a multimeter on it (several days later) which read 12.5 off and 14.5 at idle, a little lower with a/c blowing (14.05) from a cold start. put the meter on it again today (3 days later) after driving for a while in the heat and it reads at about 13.95 at idle. Why would the gauge read more consistently in park with the engine running then when I am in gear stopping at a long traffic light? I have been told that there isn't anything to be concerned about, and that the problem likely ranges from the A/C coming on, the extreme heat, and things like the radio having an effect. Driving does not seem to be affected and I have not noticed any electrical issues or dimming lights as well as no issues starting it. Battery was replaced 10 months ago. In the end, it may be nothing. Maybe the gauge is a little funky since it is 23 years old and that is part of owning an old car.

2001 LX 470

Mine had a similar behavior... seemed like under load the engine RPM was just a tad lower than idling in PARK and the volt gauge would drop. Mine ended up being a bad alternator. Keep and eye on yours or get it tested before it gets worse or leaves you stranded.

Mine had a similar behavior... seemed like under load the engine RPM was just a tad lower than idling in PARK and the volt gauge would drop. Mine ended up being a bad alternator. Keep and eye on yours or get it tested before it gets worse or leaves you stranded.
Is there a way to test the alternator that’s different than checking the voltage on the battery?