1985 BJ40 vs 1979 FJ40 (3 Viewers)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi All, I am debating between a 1985 BJ40 vs 1979 FJ40 – both looks good.
1985 Toyota BJ40 Diesel, 4cyl, LH drive, 4 speed, 4WD
vs
1979 FJ40 Land Cruiser Great mechanical condition – All 4 wheel low and high operate smooth and flawless.
I live in Boston (cold winters), will it impact the BJ40? Like starting trouble etc. I am not a mechanical guy, hence will have to take the car to the shop for any trouble. So knowing this, which one is better? Any thoughts?

If you are not a mechanical guy, I think the 79 fj40 would be a better choice. Hopefully you understand that these are 35 or 40 year old vehicles and will likely require more than periodic oil changes. Bet whichever one you get you will love it and will learn as much as you can and become more “mechanical”.
This forum is wonderful and most of the folks on it would be more than happy to help troubleshoot and solve any problems you may encounter.

If you are not a mechanical guy, I think the 79 fj40 would be a better choice. Hopefully you understand that these are 35 or 40 year old vehicles and will likely require more than periodic oil changes. Bet whichever one you get you will love it and will learn as much as you can and become more “mechanical”.
This forum is wonderful and most of the folks on it would be more than happy to help troubleshoot and solve any problems you may encounter.
Thanks thaja.

There are not too many good places these days to bring older diesel trucks... you do have some local cruiser heads there either way

Wally moses does work on anything cruiser including diesel he is in Bennington vt area

The 85’ is an interesting truck ... it would be an import ... and 85’ was the last year for the bj40 and ended early like a month into the new model year or something like that... 9/84’ and sold them to end them afaik