1978 FJ40 Order of the Build (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hello everyone....After about a year of trolling and gawking at some awesome pictures and great threads, I’ve been inspired to tell my story, both an effort to document my build and make for good conversation.

First, a little back round... I had my first experience with a 40 back in 1992. I was a freshman at Colorado Mountain College in Steamboat Springs, CO. I’m from Indiana, so this laid back mountain life was a big change for me (Awesome experience)! One Saturday before ski season, there wasn’t much going on so we were all kind of new in the dorms and one local kid invited a few of us to go off roading /cruising/logging road adventuring. When I saw what he was driving, I was kind of taken away. It was a white jeep looking thing, that just had something about it. It had a hard top with ambulance style doors and parallel jump seats for the back seat. Well, I wasn’t really a car guy, but I did know it wasn’t a jeep (mainly because I had one waiting for me back in IN). Sure enough it was a Toyota Fj40. Something about the looks and the rareness of that thing just stuck with me.

Fast forward 22 years later...the internet, Facebook, twitter, etc. One of my “Facebook friends” posted a picture of a beautiful red jeep looking thing for sale. I recognized that look and realized, that’s a Toyota. Once I saw it I immediately had a memory of my buddies in CO. Here is the picture that sparked my current addiction..,..
992531_234700583349922_1904316614_n.jpg