Should I have a rear diff locker on LX470? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
This question may have been asked thousand times. Please forgive me to ask the 1001th time. As a newbie, I really appreciate the advice from the pros.

Basically, yy 2004 LX470 has 200K miles, and I like to go to remote wildness, solo most of times. However, I don't do rock crawling.

The recent ARB promotion can get the RD152+CKSA12 for about $900. With $100 for new carrier bearings + carrier gasket, and $250 to have it professionally installed (by ZUK), the total is $1250 installed. I will have to remove and reinstall the rear 3rd by myself although.

I read the ATRAC on 04 LX470 works pretty well but never experienced it before. So is it worth to invest $1250 on a rear ARB locker for my need of offroading, on an ATRAC equipped LX470? Will the ARB locker introduce any new issue?

Happy Lunar (Chinese) New Year!:cheers:

Basically what @Trunk Monkey said. Get out there and see where is the weakest link in your rig. But if you got cash to burn, I think you'll benefit more from a good set of All-Terrain tires than a rear locker. Maybe a set of MaxTraxs if your environment is muddy, sandy, or snowy.

Gong Hey Fat Choy

Last edited:
No no, you should totally invest thousands to mod a stock vehicle for no palpable benefit and then sell the whole thing for 4 grand because it’s about to fall apart into a giant rust pile.

Obviously Toyota stopped putting rear diff lockers on for a reason. The ONLY real scientific test to see if it’s worth anything would be to take two absolutely identical vehicles with same tires and everything else and test them side by side one with lock on and one off to see if it really makes a difference.

Run the ATRAC, it’s awesome when used right..