What to look for when buying ? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Well, not to sound like a total noob, but here goes. The wife and I are thinking about switching her out of her 80 series and upgrading her into a 2003-2005 GX. I have lots of experience with the 80's, know all there is to know about them in fact. The guy who designed the 80 has me on his xmas card list, that's how much I know about them. What I know about 120's ........ (crickets).....

Not quite that bad. I am familiar with the engine architecture as my GS400 has a 1UZ. Pretty straight forward motor, have done the timing belt and water pump on it no problems. Aside from all the usual stuff you would look for anytime you would purchase a used vehicle, is there anything I should be particularly focused on when I'm looking ?

Currently I have found several that fit the bill. 04 with 120k mi for $9700 is top pick so far.
There is also another 04 with 230k mi for $5500, that's a lot of miles though.
Tons of them for under $10k with anywhere from 120-190k miles.

Thanks in advance for any help. Hope to be joining this part of the forums soon...

We should probably put a sticky together for this, as it gets asked frequently but there's no central repository of knowledge.

You can read up on year-to-year differences here: Lexus GX470

There are wiring diagrams and DIY's on ClubLexus: GX - 1st Gen (2004-2009) - Club Lexus Forums

Commonly found problems and other general information you should know:
  • Test the center differential before you buy. The vast majority of GX's are soccermom pavement queens - if the actuator is frozen up, you want to know before you buy one and have a $1k+ repair.
  • Driveshaft clunk (grease band-aids it, but the proper fix is updated parts per Lexus TSB)
  • Radiators tend to leak around 100-150k (easy replacement)