Two 62s Become One - Build Thread (2 Viewers)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Got a good chunk of the bodywork done over the weekend. There isn't a ton of filler required - just a few spots here and there on the quarters and rockers. I'm no expert at this stuff - this is my first time doing any kind of blocking, but I think it turned out ok. After a couple of coats of sealer and a couple of topcoats (with sanding in between) any minor imperfections should pretty much disappear.

Glazing putty ready for sanding:

zzz62078.jpg

And all sanded out to 180 grit:

zzz62079.jpg

And after a couple of coats of etching primer:

zzz62080.jpg
zzz62081.jpg

Finally, let us take a moment to remember what this part of the truck looked like before. A definite improvement!

z6205.jpg

I believe that I have completed all of the body work and paint prep. The entire truck has been sanded to 220 grit, and mostly masked.

zzz62082.jpg

Just waiting for weather that's a bit warmer so that I can set up a temporary spray booth in the garage. Looks like that might be a week or two out with this winter that just won't quit.

In the meantime, I'm picking away at little items. Greased up the u-joints the other day, and replaced this broken cold start injector time switch:

zzz62084.jpg

This is what one of these things looks like inside, in case you were wondering. One of the leads was broken, so you can also see my attempted repair, which actually worked but wasn't likely to last very long:

zzz62086.jpg

Shiny new switch installed:

zzz62085.jpg

A few of the final details arrived from City Racer as well, including some new front side markers to replace the ones that had completed disintegrated.

zzz62083.jpg

Hope to be spraying soon! More updates to come.