Newbie here looking for engine swap recommendations in a 73 FJ55, order of things. (2 Viewers)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

What makes them so loud? If you put a mild tire on them and a mild exhaust with a modern engine, some dynamat on the firewall and floors it shouldn’t be any worse than any other truck of this vintage right? How loud is loud as hell?
You will have an idea from driving it in stock condition at 55 mph. Certainly loud enough to cause hearing damage with prolonged exposure.
Yeah, I suppose all those upgrades will make a significant improvement in this regard. I haven't had the pleasure of driving a resto mod 55. There are a few videos available online and it's difficult to tell from them. Still loud by modern standards seems to me.

Think its fair to offer what I have in mine 1969 55 so far. 60 series 2F with recent rebuild, rebuilt H55 per Valley Hybrids (waiting on install once body shop is done), if my memory is correct and I don't want it to be but engine tranny around $5000 (probably little low), Alcan springs for 2.5" lift $1300 before price increase a couple years ago. Sniper fuel injection will be installed once its ready and that's currently at $2350.

Looking to put in electric power steering, have in my BJ45 and it’s very nice, think currently $2000

I paid $17,000 for the rig and will have close to $12,000 in the new interior and body work. Spending $800 on new window seals from Australia (group buy in 55 section)

Got two axles from 77 40 I will rebuild for $200, rebuild kit is cheap compared to everything else and will purchase from cruiser outfitters.

Planning on Vintage air $1,995.

Throw in some other costs like the bucket seats I purchased upholstered with houndstooth pattern with backseat to match., tires when ready and I'm in for $40,000 easily with me and the wife doing the work.