Newbie Here... If you only had $$$ what would you spend it on first??? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hello Y'all... With that intro you should know I'm from Texas and live in the North Ft Worth area! ;)

Been looking around for a little bit to find a good forum to educate myself. I think I found it, this site is great!

I am looking to get into Overlanding and have been going back and forth between what Rig to get. After many hours, days, weeks, okay maybe months of research and reaching out to a couple of buddies that have a lot of experience. I have landed on acquiring a Lexus GX470 between the years of 2005-2009. I will be taking a look at a few of them this week and could welcome home my new project soon.

So, here is my question? If you only had a budget of 3-4k what mods or stuff would you get first, what order, and why?

Just curious as to what I might need to prioritize first, to be able to get out and tackle some moderate trails and stuff.

First, maintenance (Stage 0). Get it up to spec. including timing belt, water pump, etc. If the rear air bags are shot, then consider swapping them out with springs and perhaps do a moderate lift while you are at it. Tires cost about $1000 so that will spend all of the $$ and give you a reliable rig to build as you go.

Great feedback. Yes, I agree maintenance items are first. Gotta make sure my rig makes it to my destination and back.

If the rear air bags are good, could I just raise them up for a lift to fit 285x70x17 tires? What I'm thinking is keeping the rear if they are good and start with the front suspension that is adjustable and lift the front 2-3". What do you think? Is it possible?