Is something wrong with my rear suspension? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi all -
I am new to Land Cruisers and Toyota's in general, so I'm hoping to draw on the collective experience of this wonderful community. I bought my completely stock 2014 Land Cruiser in June of 2017 with 22,000 miles from a Land Rover dealer who took it on trade. So far, it's been an amazing vehicle!

Here's the situation - on three separate trips now when I've had the vehicle loaded with gear and/or people I can feel the rear suspension hitting the bump stops. The three scenarios:
  1. 2 people, full tank of gas, rear loaded with firewood, cooler, typical camping gear, plus a bike rack with two mountain bikes on the hitch. This was possibly over the payload rating due to the firewood and cooler full of beer, but not positive. Hitting bump stops while driving down I-70, dirt roads getting to destination outside Moab were brutal.
  2. 5 people, full tank of gas, 5 small suitcases packed for an overnight in a hotel. Hit bump stops at dips in the road. Don't believe I was over payload rating.
  3. 5 people, half tank of gas, no other cargo. Hit bump stops while driving over speed bumps in parking lots. Pretty sure I wasn't over payload rating.
Toyota's literature states a payload capacity of 1,295 lbs.

So here's the question - Does this sound normal? I'm thinking of installing airbags in the rear like some others on Mud have done, but if something it out of sorts I'll fix that first. Plans for warmer weather: OEM strut spacers and 275/70r18 KO2's.

IMG_0074_small.JPG