Flat tow damage (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Aloha everyone I am new to the threads here is my question
There is a 2003 land cruiser for sale where I live and they say it was flat towed at some time and damaged something so they disconnected the drive shaft and front shafts drives fine now but possible transfer case damage or front diff. Does anyone know what is more likely to be damaged ?
The vehicle drives fine in 2wd. I want to buy it but not if it’s crazy expensive to repair. They are selling it for $10,500

Why it cannot be driven with rear shaft installed? Does it grind or won't move?

When towing, the transfercase has to be in neutral position. If not, the transmission will turn without automatic transmission pumping fluid inside the transmission. Heated fluid could damage the components inside the transmission as well. It's an AWD truck, so towing with rear shaft removed will spin the center diff and transmission.

I have not driven it yet but post says it drives just fine now but they had to remove the front drive shaft and the front CV shafts to drive in 2wd

well, if you want to be safe, you have a perfect bargaining position. Offer whatever the truck is otherwise worth minus the trans, transfer case, and front drivetrain replacement costs since you don't know which of those is bad. Likely, that will be a negative number. Perfect, they will have to pay you to buy it. Which possibly, they could afford to do if they made a claim against a towing company since they would have hit the jackpot... Unfortunately, for that to be the case it would have to be a pretty incompetent tow truck driver, so not very likely. More likely it was a hack tow. But yea :) More seriously, try to find out how that happened cuz if they were likely made whole, they might be much likely to go lower, this may just be a high ball asking price.