1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Blue seas add a battery kit.

Discussion in '80-Series Tech' started by danthman114, Feb 17, 2017.

  1. danthman114

    danthman114

    Messages:
    520
    Media:
    8
    Likes Received:
    153
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Location:
    Yuma, Az
    I searched around and didn't really find the answer I was looking for, so here I am asking those of you who have experience in this system.
    First, the optional led. Is it something you can pick up somewhere or is it built in?

    Second, give me some ideas where to install this kit and the blue seas fuse block and inline fuses. I want to make it nice and clean.
    Third, the start isolation terminal in the center of the three on the ACR. Is it needed?

    More questions to come...
     
  2. Hornd

    Hornd SILVER Star

    Messages:
    2,146
    Likes Received:
    1,085
    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Location:
    Toledo, OH
  3. danthman114

    danthman114

    Messages:
    520
    Media:
    8
    Likes Received:
    153
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Location:
    Yuma, Az
    Thanks but still have unanswered questions. As far as wiring gos, that's not a problem. Simple really. I wanted to know about the 3 terminals on the bottom of the ACR. One is ground obviously but the other 2. One for an LED and the other hooks into an ignition wire?
     
  4. Cruiserdrew

    Cruiserdrew SILVER Star

    Messages:
    14,022
    Likes Received:
    2,132
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    So there is a built in LED in the 7610. It's small, hard to see and under the hood. That terminal is to run an LED inside the cab of your truck. You need to purchase the LED from BlueSea separately (make sure to get the 12volt one, not the 120v ac one) and mount it anywhere you like. It tells you when the 7610 is in "combine" mode-ie joining the batteries under charge. It's very handy and I have the LED in all 3 of my installs. BTW-the red LED is much easier to see than the amber LED.

    The ignition terminal does not need to be hooked up. It is a "start interrupt" circuit. So if the 7610 is combined when you start the truck, it forces it to open the relay before the power comes online. It's an optional feature and only needed if you have very sensitive electronics (like radar) on the #2 circuit. Not an issue in your average Land Cruiser.

    The ground terminal is the only one absolutely needed. It serves as the ground reference for the 7610. Hook it to battery ground with a small inline fuse-I used 5 amp. It doesn't carry any current and the fuse is only there if something goes wrong inside the relay-it prevents that ground from becoming a short and causing a fire.
     
    LFD2037 and danthman114 like this.
  5. Funner

    Funner

    Messages:
    2,273
    Media:
    10
    Likes Received:
    810
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    I didn't use them. +Battery in and out the other side to the second batter + terminal on battery, and ground from blues sea acr. Been working flawlessly for 4 years.

    Fuse each + wire as close to the battery as possible. I used circuit breakers instead of single incident fuses.
     
    LFD2037 likes this.
  6. scrowley

    scrowley

    Messages:
    3,295
    Likes Received:
    479
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Location:
    N. West CT.
    I mounted my isolator to the firewall above the brake booster. Fuse panel in rear quarter compartment on pass side. 2awg wire that feeds fuse panel run from 2nd battery down the inside of the frame rail to the rear where I ran uo p through the rear cargo floor.
     
    LFD2037 likes this.
  7. danthman114

    danthman114

    Messages:
    520
    Media:
    8
    Likes Received:
    153
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Location:
    Yuma, Az
    For the led, I have many different colors of LEDs in my shop for fire alarms. You say 12vdc must be used does a resistor have to be used as well so it doesn't burn out?
     
  8. Funner

    Funner

    Messages:
    2,273
    Media:
    10
    Likes Received:
    810
    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
  9. danthman114

    danthman114

    Messages:
    520
    Media:
    8
    Likes Received:
    153
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Location:
    Yuma, Az
    No. I have 12/24 and 120...
     
  10. LFD2037

    LFD2037 TEXAS LEXUS!

    Messages:
    3,606
    Likes Received:
    973
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Location:
    Wax., TEXAS
    No resistor needed in any LED's I've installed in 12V, expect maybe turn signal bulbs to keep them from flashing too fast.
     
  11. danthman114

    danthman114

    Messages:
    520
    Media:
    8
    Likes Received:
    153
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Location:
    Yuma, Az
    OK guys. I must have spent an hour and a half figuring out where I'm going to put everything. There is a serious lack of space for a clean install. Anyone that has THIS kit, if it's not too much trouble, post some pics of where you installed the relay/fuse/switch and how you ran your cables. I looked at that pic from Slee but the hoods hydraulic support for lack of a better name makes contact. The only other place that would look good is driver's side firewall toward the top but that's alot of cable. 2 cables from the POS side over there. Pics please. Also, the neg to neg cable path. Under the rad in front? Wheres the best out of the way but cleanest path to take. Where was factory?
     
  12. danthman114

    danthman114

    Messages:
    520
    Media:
    8
    Likes Received:
    153
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Location:
    Yuma, Az
    Nobody has installed one of these kits?
     
  13. danthman114

    danthman114

    Messages:
    520
    Media:
    8
    Likes Received:
    153
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Location:
    Yuma, Az
    OK guys, here's where I am this far. Terminals that I have done have been crimped and soldered. I used 2awg for everything so far and I may need more. I decided on locating the ACR on the DS firewall and the switch over the hole into the cab. It's the only place it will fit but I'm going to make some 1" spacers to leave some room to fish wires through. On the 4 rear lugs of the switch I'll be putting heat shrink over them when it's all together for safety. Added a hand throttle from cruiser parts and I thought it was going to be complicated and it was simple and self explanatory. BTW, that freaking engine ground bolt about dislocated my damn shoulder. Lol.

    As far as the question I asked about the led having a resistor. I was correct. LEDs can't handle that kind of voltage without it. Not for long anyway... Pics...

    IMG_20170221_162702982.jpg

    IMG_20170221_155013445.jpg

    IMG_20170221_163040616.jpg

    IMG_20170221_163006350.jpg

    IMG_20170221_163030395.jpg
     
    FJP971 likes this.
  14. Phares

    Phares Mostly Useless

    Messages:
    990
    Media:
    4
    Likes Received:
    141
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2012
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    I wish I could help you but this isn't an upgrade I've undertaken yet. Don't get discouraged though, just keep working at it and you will be providing solutions and ideas for the next guy! That might be me!
     
    stevezero likes this.
  15. danthman114

    danthman114

    Messages:
    520
    Media:
    8
    Likes Received:
    153
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Location:
    Yuma, Az
    For future reference:. The blue sea led for the ACR yellow wire with the resistor is negative and plugs into the led terminal (right one of the 3 on the bottom) and the red will plug into my fuse block with 2a fuse.
     
  16. Cruiserdrew

    Cruiserdrew SILVER Star

    Messages:
    14,022
    Likes Received:
    2,132
    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2003
    Location:
    Sacramento, CA
    Good choices on mounting location. I used just the ACR and not the switch on my 80 and mounted the ACR on the battery box. What you've done looks great and should work fine.
     
  17. LS1FJ40

    LS1FJ40 SILVER Star

    Messages:
    6,603
    Likes Received:
    7,684
    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2005
    Location:
    Cedar Rapids, IA
    My ACR is mounted to the inside of the fender directly behind the battery tray (and under my 80 amp breaker). I stole the mounting idea for the breaker (and added my solar controller) from @NLXTACY. My Blue Sea fuse panel is mounted to the top of the cruise control box.

    IMG_3024.JPG
     
    stevezero, PolarRunner and NLXTACY like this.
  18. gofast

    gofast

    Messages:
    1,697
    Likes Received:
    329
    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Location:
    Peachland, BC
    I used the same unit shown here in the same location;

    [​IMG]

    I also used blue sea's recommended ANL fuses
    [​IMG]
    one right after the starter battery and one just before the house battery

    and I placed their fuse block ( same one shown here)

    [​IMG]

    in the covered cubby in the passenger side cargo area beside the third row seat.

    Allowed me to run power for ham, heated seats, fridge, inverter, exterior lighting, sub tank fuel pump etc. All circuits have been used

    upload_2017-2-21_21-10-2.png

    I also have an 80 amp breaker in between the postive of the house battery and the blue sea fuse panel but mine's mounted on the plastic cover of the cruise control cover.

    I purchased slee's washer relocation kit, and a passenger side factory battery box from a jdm 81 series but the pre 1993 NA trucks have the same battery box on the passenger side as the JDM's. I purchased bulk welding wire cable to run as a source from the house battery to the blue sea fuse block. It's interrupted by the 80 amp breaker. My inverter is also powered using the same welding cable. In my picture of the cubby location, the main power is attached by lug, and is also the source for the inverter. My inverter is mounted on the side of my storage unit.
     
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2017 at 11:22 PM
    PolarRunner and Hornd like this.
  19. danthman114

    danthman114

    Messages:
    520
    Media:
    8
    Likes Received:
    153
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Location:
    Yuma, Az
    Question, the blue sea diagram shows running 2 separate cables from the positive. One with a fuse to one side of the acr and another unfused cable to the switch. Same for both batteries. It's just a bypass for the ACR. Now why would they run separate cables when they could have just run a jumper from the ACR to the proper terminals on the switch? Guess I'll have to give them a call.
     
  20. NLScooby

    NLScooby

    Messages:
    566
    Media:
    1
    Likes Received:
    319
    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Location:
    North Carolina
    In the above picture it looks like the + and - terminals are combined at the same point on the fuse panel....?? Am I seeing that right?
     
Tags: