Bearing noise from front of engine - how to diagnose? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

fooldall1

Handy Enthusiast
Threads
All:

I'm hoping that all you guys or gals might share some knowledge on this topic..

I have a 2k LC, 215k miles. Engine runs smoothly, but has what I suspect to be a bearing noise coming from one of the pulleys in the front. So my question basically is, how does one locate the correct bearing/ pulley to replace? It's not a whine (like alternator bearing) and the belt is relatively new.

Noise sounds like a bearing "clacking", but I'm only a novice. I can record the sound and post here if that's allowed.

Looked in the FAQ, but didn't see any specific steps to diagnose.

Any diagnostic tips?

Thanks in advance!

Take a 14mm wrench, release the pressure on the tensioner for the serpentine drive belt. Remove drive belt. Turn (by hand) each and every pulley and feel and listen for any that seem rough.

Recording the sound (if not a whining sound) really won't do us any good.

Adding to Flintknapper's instructions, also check for play- worn bearings will sometimes spin freely but they have a slight wobble or play when you push or pull on them.

Where possible listen at all pulleys using a stethoscope or using a long extension.

If it's either tensioner or idler pulley bearings, these can be removed pressed out and new ones pressed in $10 vs $60

id guess tensioner or idler. you can check them listening with a real long extension if a stethoscope isnt accessible.

you might also check the fan bracket if its a "clacking" noise rather than the whining/whirring of bad bearings.