LabRak FJ80 Rear Cargo Shelf Install/Review (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I'm fairly new to MUD but wanted to share a new product a friend in my local Cruiser club shared with me. I carry a lot of gear and I'm always looking for more storage in my 80. LabRak recently developed a cargo shelf that looked like it would fit my needs perfectly. The shelf exceeded my expectations in build quality and functionality. So, I decided to share.

It bolts to the 3rd row grab handle locations, behind the second row seats and allows you to use the top 8" of space that typically can't be used. I like it a lot.

Install/Review:
The packaging was pretty impressive. After opening the cardboard box I found the whole thing wrapped in heavy paper to avoid scuffing.

All the mounting brackets were wrapped in bubble wrap and zip tied to the rack. Looks UPS proof to me.

Always a plus.

The rack is heavy gauge square mesh that looks like it will never sag, with thick steel mounting brackets. The whole thing has a very nice powder coat finish. The mounting hardware is stainless carriage bolts & stainless flanged nylock nuts. It's all high quality.

I did notice no installation instructions. Doesn't look difficult but instructions are always nice.

I assembled the rack before installing it. The shelf drops into the side brackets making it very strong. The keyed holes and carriage bolts made assembly very quick and easy. I had to play with the spacing a little before installation. I like the location.

The side brackets bolt directly in the third row grab handle mounting holes (remove the handles). They fit perfectly. The spacers and necessary hardware is provided. I determined they mounted with the bolt holes forward. It's pretty obvious.