Water Pump for '85 FJ60 oil cooler?? (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
OK, I'm not a mechanic, and barely engine knowledgeable. Now that I have that out of the way...Will be rebuilding an '85 FJ60, USA wagon 2F engine.....when I search water pumps some sites say something like "This water pump is for Cruisers which have a fan clutch AND an oil cooler". OK, I've identified that my FJ60 does have a fan clutch but how the Hades do I know if it has an "oil cooler"?? Where would that be and what would it be connected to if I have one?? Thanks for any help on this frustrating dilemma!

1598128528612.png

1598128554644.png

Aisin/Asco WPT-017 Fan Clutch

Aisin WPT-028 (w/ Oil Cooler)

OEM Parts

I found it! HOWEVER.......both holes on the front have a plug and the two side pipes are not connected to anything. It`s like the cooler was installed but never connected to anything. Is that bad news??? I`ve been driving it for years like this.

Last edited:
The oil cooler bolts to the side of the engine. It’s like a little radiator. Coolant flows in and out of the pipes cooling the oil. The bolts holding it onto the side of the engine are bolts. What’s shown in spikes picture is a modification. One of the pipes connects to a port on the water pump and the other to the thermostat housing.

don’t know why yours is not connected. Maybe some pictures would help.

6DEB2489-C3F5-46A7-BECB-BAB98B9849C9.png