Thread 'I have a 2001 Lexus lx470. The transmission only works in 4wheel drive.' (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Let me start with I’m a carpenter lol and a decent parts changer. Not a mechanic lol. I haven’t had any issues with the transmission other than some travel when I put it in park. Yesterday I go to leave go gas and had no traffic so I went to pull out easy and felt a pop and heard a faint grinding as of it popped out of gear. At that point I had nothing. No drive,reverse, or even park. I drifted back into the parking lot with the help of two awesome people that pushed. I looked underneath and nothing was hanging down. The rear shaft was fine as well as all the rear uv joints. I’ve been told that they are front wheel drive untiyyou kick the 4x4 in. Not being able to see under the front to check the uv’s and shafts while in the parking lot I put it in 4x4 and drove it home. Nothing at all unless it’s in 4x4. Ima try and look underneath the front end today but any advice is welcome! Thanks in advance!👍🏼👊🏻

Dumb question - is the 4hi/4lo selector smashed all the way forwards and/or backwards? That's likely not the problem if it'll move in 4WD.

These trucks are full-time AWD unless you push the diff lock button, then they're 4WD.

There's lots of things that could cause it to not move in AWD - sounds like you have ripped the splines out of your drive flanges on the front CV axles (most likely culprit I think).

@Chris73, do you know how to check the CV/flanges?

@Chris73, do you know how to check the CV/flanges?

BE SMART HERE - THE TRUCK DOESN'T CARE WHERE YOU PUT YOUR FINGERS!

A few ways - this can be dangerous and it's best to have a friend you trust in your truck while you check this stuff out: