Seeking Advice on FJ40 Carburator Leak (2 Viewers)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Hi All

Im facing an issue with the Carb of my recently acquired FJ40. After some observations and suggestions from a fellow member, I've identified that my carburator is leaking gasoline. This wasn't initially apparent, but after running the engine for a warm-up as part of an oil cleaning flush, I noticed gasoline slowly dripping down along the carburator's body.

The leak seems to be originating from somewhere around the backside of the two shafts of the second throttle or perhaps where the carburator mounts to the manifold? Given that I discovered splashes of fuel residue, it indicates that the problem may have been ongoing for a while.

As I'm fairly new to car restorations and carburator mechanics, I'm hesitant to dismantle the whole thing without some action plan. To give you a better idea of the situation, I've attached several images showing the area of the leak. Could anyone with experience in carburator issues point me in the right direction?

Any suggestions on how to diagnose this leak more accurately or advice on whether it's a common issue with an easy fix would be incredibly valuable. I'm all ears for recommended approaches, parts, or sealing techniques that could resolve this leakage problem.

photo_2023-11-02_20-03-48.jpg

photo_2023-11-02_20-03-50.jpg

photo_2023-11-02_20-03-58.jpg

photo_2023-11-02_20-04-01.jpg

Screenshot 2023-11-01 at 09.21.33.png

It sort of looks stock to me, so its like getting nearly 50 years old no surprise it leaks. Collect all the numbers on carb/tags and also look in the book for the oem carb - compare. Then start looking for a carb kit - should have everything you need to put it back together after you take it apart and clean all passages and such.