Rehabbing a 100 series, opinions wanted (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
I have a 100 series I will be bringing back to life and I am hoping to get opinions from the experts here. I have been working on motors and vehicles for 30 years and started rehabbing/rebuilding cars and trucks over the last few. The sale then funds the next project. The big questions are more around what people would expect to pay for these and opinions on leaving thre engine and trans as is vs rebuilding, vs a fully remanufactured engine with a warranty.

Typically I look to create a customized daily driver. The donor truck is a 2000 Toyota, 280k miles and runs fine, interior is 4/10, exterior is 4/10. For the 100 I originally planned:
  • Replace all joints, rod ends, and bushings (I always do this)
  • Touch everything I can inside of the budget, goal being a like new car
  • Body work and repaint OE Green Mica color (or a flat version of the same)
  • New leather, carpet, headliner, and some interior panels
  • Rebuild motor and trans
This leaves a great truck that will have a mild lift and tires to be used as a daily driver.

Buuuuuuuuuuuut I know this is a Land Cruiser and I think it deserves better. I have been thinking:
  • Same as above with:
  • Remanufactured and balanced motor with warranty
  • Rebuilt trans with warranty
  • Profoam suspension
  • TBD Wheels and Tires
  • Bluetti power system for heater, fridge, and AC/DC power options
  • Drawer and bed system
  • Bumpers and a winch
  • Roof rack, spare rack, other accessories
Any reason why the above couldn't get $80k? Historically I see sales around $65K without touching the motor...which is the big question. I like to put out vehicles that I am confident in and are reliable for years. Of course the risk being the sale cannot cover the build...lol.