Planning April solo trip to Kings Canyon-Death Valley-Mojave--Recommendations please (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Website
www.humboldt.edu
Howdy,

Planning a spring trip south from NorCal in early April. Hoping to catch some wildflowers and who knows what else. The relevant part of the trip would be leaving from the SF Bay east toward Yosemite then south. I've been to Yos. a few times and am not planning on going in. I am thinking of going through Fresno and Kings Canyon/Sequoia, stopping in Death Valley to camp for a night, then on to Mojave for a night or two. I've noticed some 4x4 roads in the websites for each, but would like some recommendations from folks who know these areas, or areas outside the parks. I'm looking for some solitude, not hairy rockcrawling--I'm a relatively novice wheeler with a mostly stock rig (BJ42, no lockers or winch, H55F with granny 1st, 33x9.5 ATs, hopefully with finally have my parabolics on by then FWIW, little or no recovery gear (probably invest in at least a tow strap and hi-lift before I go)). Would like to get out where your average Joe can't, but then I'm probably an average Joe...

Any tips appreciated.

Thanks,
:beer: B

Brendan-Do yourself a favor and get Roger Mitchell's books that cover the area you plan to visit. He's been poking around in all the odd corners of California since before I was born. Death Valley in particular doesn't have much hardcore territory but has miles and miles of ancient dirt roads that lead to adventure. SOme things to go see in no particular order:

The Racetrack
Hidden Valley
Goler Wash
South Park Canyon/South Park/Middle Park
Hungry Bill's (hike required)
Panamint City (long hike required with overnight stay)
Saline Valley
Titus Canyon if it ever reopens