OM606 Thread/Info/Discussion (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
@DirtSniffer and I have been talking a lot about different options for the OM606 engine. Power goals, transmission options, transmission controllers, etc. After looking how long our conversations have gotten we figured we should start a thread on this motor since I am sure we aren't the only ones who have the same questions. I will say I am new to this motor, I am not sure why it has not come up on my radar until I saw @DirtSniffer start talking about it in his build thread. I am hoping @LA Z will add some of his knowledge as we get going. Thanks in advance.

We are both still learning about these engines, but here is a quick summary of what we have found.

The OM606 is considered by many to be the “2JZ of the diesels”. It is a 3.0 liter, DOHC, high revving straight 6 turbo diesel that is capable of making quite a lot of power on the stock bottom end with not a whole lot of effort. A simple turbo swap on the stock manifold and upgraded injection pump can yield around 300 or so HP and 400 lbft torque, with the capability to go much higher. These engines came in the Mercedes E300D from 1996-1999 here in the US. However, the desirable turbo variant was only available in 1998-99. The NA version came with weaker connecting rods and a mechanical injection pump. The turbo versions came with electronic pumps, which are largely swapped out for a modified mechanical pump with larger elements from either the mechanical NA OM606 or predecessor OM603 pump. The engines are not the easiest to come by, but they are out there. I thought long and hard about importing a toyota diesel, but have found a very happy compromise in this engine. May even be more satisfied in the long run with the performance this engine is capable of.