Keep it or Return it? 1999 LC with 93K Miles (2 Viewers)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Wow. It's been years since I've needed help here. I am an old newbie, having a '98 and '03 LC before (those are gone...kids.), and loved all the prior help and support.

I bought a '99 LC with 93K miles for $23K from a Southern California dealer with a 5 day, 250 mile return policy. I am in that window now. It has a very good Carfax report, strong maintenance history (oil changes, timing belt/waterpump at about 77K miles, etc done at Toyota dealer in Southern CA). So it has lived its life in So Cal.

I have been looking for a new 100 series (pre built in Nav system, so a '98 to '01) since my earlier cruisers went away two years ago. We all know the market got crazy, and has cooled a bit, but nice 100s still fetch $25K and up on Bring A Trailer (with some going over $50K for low miles and in showroom condition.

Upon reviewing this LC at the dealer I knew that the radiator was in bad shape (plastic top well browned, and it had green fluid), hood struts both failed, original wheels had been chromed (I don't know if they ever came that way), with chrome pealing, and 25 years of curb rash etc., and rusty rotors, and what appeared as some oil leakage.

This is a no negotiation type place, but I did bring that up to sales manager, who listened, and said she would consider lowering the price if it didn't sell to someone else over the weekend, or I could buy it, take it and have it inspected and return it if I didn't like what I found. I obviously was swayed by the low milage.

The good news:
1. One owner Southern California Land Cruiser per Carfax.
2. No Rust
3. All electronics, radio/speakers, door locks, windows, sunroof work well, headliner in great shape.
4. Two full remote key fobs that function properly
5. Straight body, hood, etc.