Just Inherited a Land Cruiser - Repairs and Body Work Needed (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Let's just say I am a noob times a million. I've just inherited a Land Cruiser that was sadly very neglected in a driveway outside for years, but still running okay despite all odds. I have dreams of making this a daily driver as I am without a car now. I've received a quote for the repairs, and with body work it's getting well into the double digits... which is scary.

What are your thoughts on this undercarriage though? I keep reading how if there is rust just let it go, but since this car cost me $0 I have some money to put into it. Just not sure if I should. I am attaching photos from the report I got today and they didn't mention the rust to me (this was the mechanic not the body shop) so I am not sure if that means anything?
Thoughts?

Thanks so much in advance! This community seems awesome so far and I've enjoyed reading in the forums.

EDIT:
Just want to say thank you everyone for the vote of confidence and also note here that I apparently have no effing clue what rust looks like :geek:, but glad to hear that this old gal is rust free.

image (1).jpg

image (3).jpg

image (4).jpg

image (5).jpg

image (6).jpg

Last edited:
Doesn't look terrible. Just the typical oil leaks. How is the rest of the truck. This forum requires much more pictures! What are the stats? Mileage, locked, mechanical history? Everyone is going to be dying to know these details! Lol.

And welcome to the addiction. Godspeed!

@NorCalFJ100 You saying that it doesn't look terrible brought a tear to my eye. haha... so maybe I am too far gone to consider not just going all in.

I am not a car person (and maybe that already disqualifies me from having a car like this) so I will have to investigate the answer to those questions:
Mileage - 150k (almost 100k less than my 99 civic)