**HELP!!** 1997 80 in serious need of some engine help (possible swap or rebuild?!) (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
So Friday night on my weekly trip home (a 350 mile journey that I've been doing for the past ~6 months and will continue to do until I can sell my house) I had just topped a large hill when I swear i heard a clunk (was listening to some talk radio via headphones so it's hard to say where it came from) and then lost all power. I literally watched the tach drop. I coasted to the edge of the road, shifted to park, checked the oil (Maybe a quart low...I know, I know...) then hopped back in and restarted it with no problem...then I heard it - Lifter noise! (or at least I think so). It seemed to be running fine and the next and only stop (for literally the next 80 miles and the only place with a phone since there's NO cell service along this stretch of road) was in my sites so i headed out with my hazard lights on. i noticed that if i got over ~2500 rpm the noise got MUCH worse and that my oil pressure gauge wasn't responding (and I know for a fact that it had been earlier that morning). Long story short, my AMAZING wife drove over 130 miles to come get me and TOWED me home!! Now I need options...what do I do? Has anyone else had this problem and if so how do I tell what's wrong? Who's a great Toyota mechanic in Wyoming (or near by) that I can trust and who son't charge me an arm and a leg? I've literally only had this rig for ~2 months and knew it would need work since it has 276k miles on it but I wasn't ready for this yet! :-9 Any help would be MUCH appreciated!!!

Sorry to hear about your 80. Mine is of similar mileage, but no dramatic noises so far. I'm sure the real experts will be along shortly...

I have picked up a spare 1FZ-FE long-block and I'm trying to decide if I should rebuild it or do a diesel swap or an LS swap. Decisiveness is not a strength.