FJ55 V8 Conversion Questions (1 Viewer)

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate
links, including eBay, Amazon, Skimlinks, and others.

Threads
Let me preface this post by saying that I am a newbie to doing this type of conversion so please bear with any dumb questions I may ask. With that said...

I am looking to put a SBC in a 1970 FJ55. The truck had a 350 in it previously which was removed for body restoration so I don't need to worry about motor mounts. The rig will be my daily driver and I am not planning on wheeling it. I also want a setup that is easy to drive for my wife. The truck comes with the original 3 spd tranny and transfer case. I am leaning towards a newer TBI 350 from a 1988-1992 chevy pickup, suburban, van, etc. My questions are:

1) Is there any problem with trying to pull the whole setup out of a wrecked parts rig if can find one? Anything special I need to look for?

2) What should I do about a transfer case? I think this setup generally came with a NP208, chain driven case. I don't really care that it is chain driven since I am not wheeling it, but is this a center output? I would rather not have to swap out my rear axle/differential. What are my other Tcase options.

3) Is this a good setup in general? Should I be thinking about the older TH350 or TH400 tranny? I see a lot of them for sale cheap.

4) What are the other important items I am not thinking about?

At this point I am really just trying to get a game plan together and start looking for parts. I'm sure I'll have more questions as I move forward. Thanks for the help.

V8 Pig

Send me an Email, I have a 74' FJ55 with a 350/TH350 mated to Toyota 3Spd transfer case. I have pics of the adapters and of how it sits together. I can help you with other drivetrain questions too. I wouldnt change the tcase, just get an adapter for the TH350/400 to mate to it. Hodag